Photo Credit: Scott Harris

Today, two-time Rock and Roll Hall of Famer and co-founder of The Byrds and Crosby, Stills and Nash, David Crosby, has announced the Nov. 25 release of his first-ever live album, dubbed David Crosby & The Lighthouse Band Live at the Capitol Theatre. In light of the news, the artist also shared the initial preview of the upcoming album, with a live take on “1974.”

Crosby’s forthcoming live album was tracked and filmed at Port Chester, N.Y.’s The Capitol Theatre on Dec. 8, 2018, and will be available in CD and DVD formats when it drops in late November. The compilation features Crosby performing alongside The Lighthouse Band’s Becca Stevens, Michelle Willis and Snarky Puppy’s Michael League– who have worked with Crosby since he dropped the 2016 LP, Lighthouse.

Esteemed-concert promoter and owner of The Capitol Theatre, Peter Shapiro, shared, “Hosting David Crosby at The Capitol Theatre was an honor for us and when David came out and crushed his performance it elevated things even further. We feel very fortunate that this legendary moment was captured forever.”

In addition to the comment from the venue’s host, bandmate League shared some background on today’s preview, “1974.” He offered, “I found the demo and I listened to it. I fell in love with this and I thought, you know, Crosby should finish this and he said, ‘Man, it’s been sitting on my computer for 40 years, so you know, whatever, sure,’ so I sent it to Becca Stevens and she was like ‘give me a crack at it’ – so she came in a couple of days later with four-part harmonies for the entire song, lyrics to the entire song, and we sat down that day and kind of fine-tuned things, and so 44 years after it’s kind of conception a song was born.” 

Stevens added her two cents, stating, “The Lighthouse band is family. David and I tease about my not ‘understanding the magnitude of his brilliance.’ I didn’t grow up with his music. I knew his name, but that was about it. I’ve gotten to know him purely through my experience of him in the present moment, generous, endlessly inspired, ambitious, and completely insane (in all my favorite ways).” 

Stream or download “1974” now. See the complete track list for the forthcoming LP below. 

David Crosby & The Lighthouse Band Live at the Capitol Theatre Track List: 

  1. The Us Below 
  2. Things Be Do For Love 
  3. 1974 
  4. Vagrants of Venice
  5. Regina 
  6. Laughing 
  7. What Are Their Names 
  8. By The Light of Common Day 
  9. Glory 
  10. The City 
  11. Look in Their Eyes 
  12. Guinnevere 
  13. Janet 
  14. Carry Me 
  15. Deja Vu 
  16. Woodstock