We’ll end a very Grateful Dead-heavy news day with some information regarding the next two archival releases to feature the one and only Jerry Garcia. The next release from the guitarist’s solo canon, The Jerry Garcia Collection, Vol. 2: Let It Rock, will collect highlights from Jerry Garcia Band shows that took place on November 17 and 18, 1975. The gigs were held at Keystone Berkeley in front of a hometown crowd, featuring the JGB lineup of Garcia, bassist John Kahn, drummer Ron Tutt and piano player Nicky Hopkins. Let it Rock includes covers of Chuck Berry (“Let It Rock”), Little Milton (“That’s What Love Will Make You Do”), Jimmy Cliff (“Sitting In Limbo”), Allen Toussaint (“I’ll Take A Melody”) and Hank Ballard (“Tore Up Over You”), as well as the Grateful Dead’s “Friend Of The Devil” and Garcia’s “Sugaree.” Three Hopkins originals are also featured: “Pig’s Boogie,” “Lady Sleeps” and the curiously titled “Edward, The Mad Shirt Grinder” (the latter of which Hopkins first performed with Quicksilver Messenger Service).

The Grateful Dead will also release the next installment in the Road Trips series. Road Trips Vol. 3, No. 1 features a complete recording of December 28, 1979, the same New Year’s Run that is featured on Dick’s Picks: Vol. 5. Recorded at California’s Oakland Auditorium following the closure of the Winterland, the gigs took place early in keyboardist Brent Mydland’s tenure in the band. Highlights include “Sugaree,” a rare “High Time,” “The Music Never Stopped,” the then new “Alabama Getaway,” “Greatest Story Ever Told,” “Playing in the Band,” “Terrapin Station,” “Casey Jones” and “One More Saturday Night.”

A limited edition Bonus Disc will also feature material from December 30, 1979, including a run from “Scarlet Begonias” into “Fire on the Mountain” and “Let It Grow.” Longtime Relix photographer Jay Blakesberg and Dead scribe Steve Silberman contribute to the album’s liner notes.