Iconic singer-songwriter Van Morrison has announced he will release his new studio album, Three Chords and The Truth, Oct. 25 via Exile/Caroline International, and shared a preview of the collection with new single “Dark Night of the Soul.”

On the process of making the new record—which continues Morrison’s recent prolific output after he put out two albums in each of the last two years—the musician says, “You’re just plugging into the feeling of it… When they’re playing, it’s like reading me. So, I think there’s more of that connection.”

Three Chords and The Truth features 14 new tracks written and produced by Morrison, including one co-write with Dan Black (“If We Wait for Mountains”) and one duet with The Righteous Brothers’ Bill Medley (“Fam Will Eat the Soul”).

Listen to “Dark Night of the Soul” below. Morrison’s next live show is an Oct. 2 date in Reno, NV. Check out his full tour schedule here.

Three Chords and The Truth Tracklist:

  1. March Winds In February
  2. Fame Will Eat The Soul
  3. Dark Night Of The Soul
  4. In Search Of Grace
  5. Nobody In Charge
  6. You Don’t Understand
  7. Read Between The Lines
  8. Does Love Conquer All?
  9. Early Days
  10. If We Wait For Mountains
  11. Up On Broadway
  12. Three Chords And The Truth
  13. Bags Under My Eyes
  14. Days Gone By