Photo Credit: Jason Galea

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard has taken to its social channels to announce Flight b741, the band’s hotly-anticipated 26th studio album. Set to fly from p(doom)–the group’s recently established independent record label–on August 9, the latest offering is still shrouded in intrigue, with no release accompanying its first announcement; fans will have to hold out until July 9 for the first single and an accompanying music video directed by Guy Tyzack, who previously created the video for “Black Hot Soup” from King Gizzard’s acclaimed leftfield 2021 project Butterfly 3000.

Given the band’s trademark breakneck release schedule, the 10 months that have passed since the group’s electrified 2023 project The Silver Cord and the forthcoming album have been an uncharacteristically long wait for King Gizzard’s passionate following. In the terse album announcement post, the band offers that it has “Been working real hard on this one. So excited for you all to hear it!”

While the genre-contorting psych-fusion expeditionaries have never stayed in one sound for long, its past few years have seen rapid shape-shifting, assuming influence from metal, trance, krautrock, thrash and more. While none of the 10 tracks on the new project have seen official studio releases yet, the band debuted “Mirage City,” “Sad Pilot,” “Raw Feel,” “Daily Blues,” and “Le Risqué” on its recent European tour. Sample the tracks via the fan-recorded videos below.

For more information on King Gizzard’s release history and tickets for its upcoming US tour, visit Read on for the complete tracklist from Flight b741.

View this post on Instagram


A post shared by kinggizzard (@kinggizzard)

King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Flight b741:

1. Mirage City
2. Antarctica
3. Raw Feel
4. Field of Vision
5. Hog Calling Contest 
6. Le Risque
7. Flight b741
8. Sad Pilot
9. Rats In The Sky
10. Daily Blues