Photo Credit: Jay Sansone

Bonny Light Horseman, the trio comprised of Anaïs Mitchell, Eric D. Johnson, and Josh Kaufman, has announced its third full-length album and Jagjaguwar recording label debut, the double album Keep Me on Your Mind/See You Free. As a preview, the group delivered its lead single, “I Know You Know,” alongside their first-ever music video, directed by Kimberly Stuckwisch. 

“I Know You Know” harnesses its ability to evoke strong emotion in the blended vocal stylings of Mitchell and Johnson. The pair sonically drape a pop-folk sheet over ruinous retellings for a layered arrangement that keeps the listener pressing play and uncovering a more profound sense of feeling that reveals itself upon multiple engagements. 

Today’s release follows February’s cleansing and sonorous single “When I Was Younger,” a feature of the album’s tracklist and contributes to the overarching theme of the impending double set, an “Ode to the blessed mess of our humanity,” as stated in the band’s official press release. Across the LPs, the artists dabble with opposing feelings and experiences: love and loss, hope and sorrow, community and family, change and time.

Keep Me on Your Mind/See You Free was scribed over five months in 2023. The set was first thought of when the ensemble gathered in the century-old pub Levis Corner House in Ballydehob, Ireland, alongside collaborators JT Bates (bass), Cameron Ralston (drums), and recording engineer Bella Blasko, and the location inevitably served as their first recording location–recognized for holding a similar sense to that of their proposed project: flawed yet resilient.

The forthcoming set presents tracks across two discs, requiring two titles, ultimately fusing into one breath of locution with two distinct messages: Don’t forget and flatter self-discovered prerogative. And, ultimately, whisper lucid lines: the best-lived experiences were not and will never be perfect. 

Keep Me on Your Mind/See You Free LP Tracklist:

 1. Keep Me on Your Mind

 2. Lover Take It Easy

 3. I Know You Know

 4. grinch/funeral

 5. Old Dutch

 6. When I Was Younger

 7. Waiting and Waiting

 8. Hare and Hound

 9. Rock the Cradle

10. Singing to the Mandolin

11. The Clover

12. Into the O

13. Don’t Know Why You Move Me

14. Speak to Me Muse

15. think of the royalties, lads

16. Tumblin Down

17. I Wanna Be Where You Are

18. Over the Pass

19. Your Arms (All the Time)

20. See You Free