photo by Ken Friedman


The Jerry Garcia Family and Round Records have announced a new six-CD box set, Electric On The Eel, which will feature three Jerry Garcia Band shows from 1987, ’89 and ’91, all recorded on the banks of Eel River in Piercy, CA.

JGB returned to Eel River every other summer during those years after being invited by Wavy Gravy to headline a benefit concert to raise money for his Hog Farm, with legendary promoter Bill Graham co-producing. Along with Garcia, the shows featured keyboardist Melvin Seals, bassist John Kahn, drummer David Kemper, and vocalists Gloria Jones and Jacklyn LaBranch.

Along with the three electric sets, fans who pre-order the box set will receive a bonus CD featuring the Jerry Garcia Acoustic Band set at Eel River from August 29, 1987.

Electric On The Eel is set for release March 15. See the full tracklist below and pre-order the box set here.



Jerry Garcia Band Electric On The Eel Tracklist:

August 29, 1987:

Disc 1 // Set 1
1. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
2. Forever Young
3. Get Out Of My Life Woman
4. Run For The Roses
5. And It Stoned Me
6. My Sisters And Brothers
7. Deal

Disc 2 // Set 2
1.The Harder They Come
2. I Shall Be Released
3. Think
4. Evangeline
5. Gomorrah
6. Let It Rock
7. That Lucky Old Sun
8. Tangled Up In Blue

June 10, 1989:

Disc 3 // Set 1
1. I’ll Take A Melody
2. They Love Each Other
3. Get Out Of My Life Woman
4. Run For The Roses
5. Stop That Train
6. Mission In The Rain
7. My Sisters And Brothers
8. Deal

Disc 4 // Set 2
1. The Harder They Come
2. Waiting For A Miracle
3. I Shall Be Released
4. Think
5. I Hope It Won’t Be This Way Always
6. Don’t Let Go
7. Evangeline
8. That Lucky Old Sun
9. Tangled Up In Blue

August 10, 1991:

Disc 5 // Set 1
1. The Way You Do The Things You Do
2. And It Stoned Me
3. You Never Can Tell (C’est La Vie)
4. Waiting For A Miracle
5. Struggling Man
6. My Sisters And Brothers
7. Deal

Disc 6 // Set 2
1. Shining Star
2. Think
3. Lay Down Sally
4. Twilight
5. See What Love Can Do
6. Lazy Bones
7. Everybody Needs Somebody To Love