Broken Social Scene will release an as-yet-untitled new album on May 4. The album is the collective’s first proper studio album since 2005, though band co-founders Kevin Drew and Brendan Canning both released solo album featuring members of the ensemble. The band’s new release was co-produced by Broken Social Scene and Tortoise’s John McEntire at Soma Studios in Chicago, with additional recording at Giant Studio and The Schvitz Studio in Toronto.

In addition to group mainstays Drew and Canning, the version of Broken Social Scene featured on the album includes Justin Peroff, Charles Spearin, Andrew Whiteman, Sam Goldberg and Lisa Lobsinger. In addition, BSS alumni like Leslie Feist, Jason Collett, Amy Millan (Stars), Emily Haines (Metric), Evan Cranley (Stars), Jimmy Shaw (Metric), Ohad Benchetrit (Do Make Say Think), John Crossingham, Marty Kinack, Leon Kingstone and Julie Penner appear on the album.

Other guests include: The Sea and Cake’s Sam Prekop, Tortoise’s Doug McCombs, Pavement’s Spiral Stairs, Sebastian Grainger, Poi Dog Pondering’s Susan Bells, Helen Money’s Alison Chesley and The Weakerthans’ Jason Tait.