Avett Brothers bassist Bob Crawford will release the first album by his other band Overmountain Men. In addition to Crawford, The Overmountain Men features Charlotte-based singer/songwriter, David Childers, guitarist Randy Saxon and drummer/percussionist Robert Childers. The group’s debut album, Glorious Day, is scheduled for release in early 2010 via the Avett’s original label, Ramseur Records. The CD features nine original songs. All songs on the CD were written by Crawford, Childers, Saxon and Childers. The CD includes the song “Angola,” which is featured in the award-winning documentary “Six Seconds of Freedom,” an indie film about the famous prison rodeo at Angola Prison.

According to the band, Glorious Day was recorded primarily at Old House Studios, Gastonia, NC. Additional songs were recorded at The Grange, Greenville, NC, and the Milestone Club, in Charlotte, NC. The recordings feature a slew of guest players including: piano player Scott Daley, fiddler Geoffrey White, singer/guitarist Andy The Doorbum, trumpeter Charlie Lybrand and many others. The Avett Brothers will kick off its sold-out New Year’s Run at Knoxville, TN’s Tennessee Theatre on December 30.