Animal Collective will reissue its 2003 album Campfire Songs through Catsup Plate. According to the band, “An idea originally thought up by [members] Dave Portner and Noah Lennox while in college, Campfire Songs is not a record of songs sung around a campfire but a record that hints at songs emerging from the fire itself: We wanted to give the music the feeling and atmosphere of the outdoors and the warmth of a fire, so people could bring it indoors.” The five-song release was written over the period of four or five years and “is an escape from the clutter and electronic assault of the group’s 2001 release Danse Manatee and the tour that preceded it.” The songs were completed in the band’s apartment without current member Geologist and recorded on a screened-in porch in Maryland using portable mini disc players. The band used this technique to “allow the ambience of trees blowing in the wind, the birds chirping and the insects in the area to become an integral part of the sound flow.” The CD’s original printings recently went out of stock so this is the band’s attempt to keep the album alive.