Image via Sean Kuti’s Black Times

Today, legendary Afrobeat artist Sean Kuti and co-founder of The Roots Black Thought announced they’ll release a new EP titled African Dreams on Friday, Dec. 9. The project is comprised of three hip-hop remixes from Kuti’s group Seun Kuti & Egypt 80’s LP Black Times which was released in 2018 and nominated for a Grammy.

African Dreams was produced by Molotov, mixed by Q Million, mastered by Chris Athens, and distributed by AWAL, with album artwork by Oddhouse and marks the second collaboration between Kuti and Black Thought following their shared work on Common’s single “When We Move” which was shared worldwide for UN World Oceans Day and on The Tonight Show.

The announcement of the project follows the release of the record lead single “Kuku Kee Me (Remix),” which was shared with an animated music video on Sept. 22, with the song debuting the following day. The track has been tapped for the official soundtrack of the video game FIFA 23.

African Dreams comes hot on the heels of the conclusion of Kuti & Egypt 80’s international tour, which has been on June 1 and ended in Madrid on Nov. 7.

Listen to a preview of the project and find the track list for the upcoming EP below.

The tracklist is as follows:
1. “African Dreams (Remix)”
2. “Bad Man Lighter (Remix)”
3. “Kuku Kee Me (Remix)”