Today, Dr. Dog have shared a new live album dubbed Four Nights Live in San Francisco: Night 1, which tracks the group’s 18-song set from their first of four nights at The Independent in San Francisco, which occurred on Feb. 19, 2020. They also revealed that the other three nights of music would be issued as independent albums and drop monthly, with a four-part cumulative box set promised on Dec. 9.

The recorded concerts were tapped at Dr. Dog’s Feb. 19 through 22, 2020 shows in The Golden City. Each forthcoming album features an 18-song set tracked at each of their live shows. In total, the group will share 72 songs before the year’s end, with a complete box set dropping on Dec. 9, in digital and cassette format. 

Moreover, in an email blast shared by Dr. Dog, each of the band members shared a personal update on their current status. Drummer Eric Slick disclosed that he has been working on a forthcoming solo album and plans to tour alongside the Plains in October and November. Meanwhile, guitarist Frank McElroy added he’s been delving into checkers and hopes to move on to chess soon.

All joking aside, vocalist Scott McMicken will play his first show with his new self-titled project at Levon Helm Studio in Woodstock, N.Y., on Nov. 5. And, bassist Toby Leaman has just completed a new EP, that will be released in the fall. Lastly, keyboardist Zach Miller is working on a top-secret Christmas album as well as some original tunes. 

Stream Four Nights Live in San Francisco: Night 1 now. Pre-order the four-part cassette box set here.  

View each album’s tracking list below.

Track Listing – Night 1: (Feb. 19, 2020)


Abandoned Mansion

The Breeze

True Love



Jim Song

Take Me Into Town

Easy Beat


Virginia Please

Ain’t It Strange


Critical Equation

These Days

Be the Void

The Beach

Where’d All the Time Go?

Track Listing – Night 2: (Feb. 20, 2020)

Die, Die, Die

How Long Must I Wait?

Shame, Shame

I Only Wear Blue

Rock & Roll


The Pretender

Heart Killer

100 Years

Say Something

Hang On


Heart It Races


Go Out Fighting

I Can’t Fly

Jackie Wants A Black Eye


Track Listing – Night 3: (Feb. 21, 2020)

Livin’ a Dream


Heavy Light

Under the Wheels

Over Here, Over There

Distant Light

County Line


Bring My Baby Back

Oh No

Could’ve Happened to Me

Coming Out of the Darkness

Fool’s Life

Fire on My Back

Buzzing in the Light

The Way the Lazy Do


The Rabbit, The Bat, and The Reindeer

Track Listing – Night 4: (Feb. 22, 2020)

Army of Ancients

The World May Never Know

The Ark

Shadow People

Too Weak to Ramble

My Friend

Worst Trip

Casual Freefall

The Girl

Wake Up

Listening In

Can She Dance

Turning the Century


Jackie Wants A Black Eye

Broken Heart

Fat Dog