Fleet Foxes have announced they’ll release a 13-track career-spanning collection titled A Very Lonely Solistice on Dec. 10. The recording was originally broadcast from Brooklyn, N.Y.’s St. Ann & the Holy Trinity Church as a live-stream event on the winter solstice of 2020, just days after New York declared a state of emergency and tightened restrictions once again in response to increasing COVID-19 cases.

Fleet Foxes frontman Robin Pecknold said the performance was “me by myself on the longest night of the year… honoring the loneliness of 2020 with a nylon string and some songs new and old.” Fans all around the world tuned in while they were quarantined at home, and many found a rare sense of solace and community in a period of extreme isolation.

Much of the A Very Lonely Solstice showcases Pecknold solo while he offers up acoustic arrangements of beloved songs including tracks off of 2008’s self-titled debut album, 2011 Helplessness Blues, 2017’s Crack-Up, and even their latest offering Shore. The Resistance Revival Chorus joins Pecknold on Shore tracks “Wading In Waist-High Water” and “Can I Believe You.” Also featured on the LP is a cover is Nina Simone’s “In The Morning” along with a rearrangement of the traditional “Silver Dagger.”

The digital release of the album on Dec. 10 will be joined by a filmed recording which will drop on youtube as a premiere event.

 A Very Lonely Solstice Tracklisting 

1. Wading In Waist-High Water 
2. Sunblind 
3. In The Morning 
4. Tiger Mountain Peasant Song 
5. Maestranza 
6. Helplessness Blues 
7. Silver Dagger 
8. Featherweight   
9. A Long Way Past The Past 
10. Blue Spotted Tail
11. If You Need To, Keep Time on Me
12. I’m Not My Season
13. Can I Believe You