Photo via @oysterhead on Instagram, taken by Rene Huemer

On Feb. 14 at the 1stBank Center in Broomfield, Colo., Oysterhead – the alt-funk-jam supergroup made up of guitarist Trey Anastasio (Phish), bassist Les Claypool (Primus) and drummer Stewart Copeland (The Police) – performed their first show since Bonnaroo 2006. The show included the Oysterhead debut of Phish’s “46 Days” and The Police’s “Voices Inside My Head.”

The first set began with “Little Faces,” which is also the opening track on Oysterhead’s only record, The Grand Pecking Order (2001). Next came “Mr. Oysterhead,” followed by “Polka Dot Rose.” The band then performed a pairing of “Radon Balloon” > “The Grand Pecking Order,” before closing the set with “Rubberneck Lions.”

Set two began with an improvised jam before the band began the Claypool-penned “Shadow of a Man.” “Shadow” then transitioned into “Army’s On Ecstasy,” which included a “Star Spangled Banner” tease from Claypool. “Wield the Spade” saw Anastasio take over on drums and Copeland provide some spoken-word. After renditions of “Birthday Boys” and “Oz is Ever Floating,” Oysterhead closed the set with “Pseudo Science.”

The encore featured two Oysterhead debuts, beginning with The Police’s “Voices Inside My Head.” The band then moved into their first performances of Phish’s “46 Days.” The Phish song was recorded in 2002, just a year after Oysterhead’s released The Grand Pecking Order. Both Round Room (the Phish album on which “46 Days” appears) and The Grand Pecking Order were recorded at Anastasio’s Barn studio in Vermont. During the show-closing “Owner of the World,” the band teased Deep Purple’s “Smoke On The Water.”

Oysterhead returns to the 1stBank Center on Feb. 15 for their second show since 2006. Check out Feb. 14’s setlist below, via

Feb. 14, 2020
1stBank Center, Broomfield, Colo.

Set I: Little Faces, Mr. Oysterhead, Polka Dot Rose, Radon Balloon > The Grand Pecking Order, Rubberneck Lions

Set II: Jam > Shadow of a Man > Army’s On Ecstasy, Wield the Spade [1], Birthday Boys, Oz is Ever Floating, Pseudo Suicide

Enc: Voices Inside My Head [2] > 46 Days[2], Owner of the World

[1] Trey on drums.
[2] Oysterhead debut.