_George Salisbury_

The Flaming Lips have announced their Restless Era reissue series, which will offer remastered versions of the band’s early work in two collections, available this spring.

Scratching the Door: The First Recordings of The Flaming Lips will be a one-disc, 19-track compilation of music from the band’s original lineup—featuring frontman Wayne Coyne’s brother Mark on vocals—and will be released April 20. Track highlights include covers of The Who, Led Zeppelin and the iconic ’60s Batman TV show theme song.

Seeing the Unseeable: The Complete Studio Recordings of The Flaming Lips 1986–1990 will be a six-CD box set that includes the band’s four studio albums on Restless Records (_Hear It Is_ Oh My Gawd!!!…The Flaming Lips, Telepathic Surgery and In A Priest Driven Ambulance (With Silver Sunshine Stares) along with some rarities. The second compilation will be available May 25.

The collections will also be available digitally, marking the first-time digital releases of over 40 tracks. The band will also reissue vinyl versions of their Restless albums this year. See the full track lists below.

The Flaming Lips also recently added dates to their 2018 schedule. Tickets for the new shows go on sale this Friday, March 3. See the dates below.

The Flaming Lips Tour Dates

March 3 Okeechobee, FL—Okeechobee Festival
March 5 Athens, GA—Georgia Theatre*
March 6 Knoxville, TN—The Mill & Mine
March 7 Birmingham, AL—Iron City
March 9 Asheville, NC—Orange Peel
March 10 Richmond, VA—The National
March 11 Bensalem, PA—XCite Center at Parx Casino
May 6 Memphis, TN—Beale Street Music Festival
May 31 Jackson, WY—Jackson Hole Center for the Arts*
June 2 Eugene, OR—McDonald Theatre*
June 3 Seattle, WA—Upstream Music Fest + Summit*
June 4 Bonner, MT—Kettlehouse Amphitheater*
June 6 Garden City, ID—Revolution Concert House*
June 7 Ogden, UT—Ogden Amphitheatre*
June 08 Aspen, CO—Belly Up Aspen*
June 22 Saskatoon, SK—Sasktel Saskatchewan Jazz Fest
June 24 Winnipeg, MB—Jazz Winnipeg at Burton Cummings Theatre
July 20 Cheshire, England—Bluedot 2018, Jodrell Bank*
July 21 London, England—Kaleidoscope Festival, Alexandra Palace*
November 9 Weissenhauser Strand, Germany—Rolling Stone Weekender*
November 16 Europa-Park, Germany—Rolling Stone Park*

*newly announced dates


1. “Bag Full Of Thoughts”
2. “Out For A Walk”
3. “Garden Of Eyes”
4. “Forever Is A Long Time”
5. “Scratchin’ The Door”
6. “My Own Planet”
7. “Killer On The Radio”
8. “Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere”
9. “Batman Theme”
10. “Handsome Johnny”
11. “Flaming Lips Theme Song 1983”
12. “The Future Is Gone”
13. “Underground Pharmacist”
14. “Real Fast Words”
15. “Groove Room”
16. “Jesus Shootin’ Heroin”
17. “Trains, Brains & Rain”
18. “Communication Breakdown”
19. “Summertime Blues”


Disc One: Hear It Is
1. “With You”
2. “Unplugged”
3. “Trains, Brains and Rain”
4. “Jesus Shootin’ Heroin”
5. “Just Like Before”
6. “She Is Death”
7. “Charlie Manson Blues”
8. “Man From Pakistan”
9. “Godzilla Flick”
10. “Staring At Sound/With You (Reprise)”

Disc Two: Oh My Gawd!!!…The Flaming Lips
1. “Everything’s Explodin’”
2. “One Million Billionth Of A Millisecond On A Sunday Morning”
3. “Maximum Dream For Evil Knievel”
4. “Can’t Exist”
5. “Ode to C.C. (Part I)”
6. “The Ceiling Is Bendin’”
7. “Prescription: Love”
8. “Thanks To You”
9. “Can’t Stop The Spring”
10. “Ode To C.C. (Part II)”
11. “Love Yer Brain”

Disc Three: Telepathic Surgery
1. “Drug Machine In Heaven”
2. “Right Now”
3. “Michael, Time To Wake Up”
4. “Chrome Plated Suicide”
5. “Hari-Krishna Stomp Wagon (Fuck Led Zeppelin)”
6. “Miracle On 42nd Street”
7. “Fryin’ Up”
8. “Hell’s Angel’s Cracker Factory”
9. “U.F.O. Story”
10. “Redneck School Of Technology”
11. “Shaved Gorilla”
12. “The Spontaneous Combustion Of John”
13. “The Last Drop Of Morning Dew”
14. “Begs and Achin’”

Disc Four: In A Priest Driven Ambulance (With Silver Sunshine Stares)
1. “Shine On Sweet Jesus – Jesus Song No. 5”
2. “Unconsciously Screamin’”
3. “Rainin’ Babies”
4. “Take Meta Mars”
5. “Five Stop Mother Superior Rain”
6. “Stand In Line”
7. “God Walks Among Us Now – Jesus Song No. 6”
8. “There You Are – Jesus Song No. 7”
9. “Mountain Side”
10. “What A Wonderful World”

Disc Five: Restless Rarities
1. “Death Valley ’69”
2. “Thank You”
3. “Can’t Stop The Spring” – Remix
4. “After The Gold Rush”
5. “Death Trippin’ At Sunrise”
6. “Drug Machine In Heaven” – Sub Pop 7” version
7. “Strychnine/Peace, Love And Understanding”
8. “Lucifer Rising”
9. “Ma, I Didn’t Notice”
10. “Let Me Be It”
11. “She’s Gone Mad Again”
12. “Golden Hearse”
13. “Stand In Line”
14. “I Want To Kill My Brother; The Cymbal Head”
15. “Five Stop Mother Superior Rain”

Disc Six: The Mushroom Tapes
1. “Take Meta Mars”
2. “Mountain Side”
3. “There You Are”
4. “Five Stop Mother Superior Rain”
5. “Rainin’ Babies”
6. “Unconsciously Screamin’”
7. “Stand In Line”
8. “God’s A Wheeler Dealer”
9. “Agonizing”
10. “One Shot”
11. “Cold Day”
12. “Jam”