Gov’t Mule continued their tour out west with a stop at the Wiltern Theatre in Los Angeles where they welcomed a number of familiar guests for a number of covers including a special tribute to the late Walter Becker to end the first set.

Mule paid tribute to Becker with guitarist Jimmy Vivino as well as Jeff Young and Scott Paige, who all helped Mule on the Steely Dan tune “Dirty Work” before launching into a jam dedicated to the late co-founder before the band’s “Don’t Take Me Alive” closed the set.

Funkadelic’s “Maggot Brain” kicked off the second set as Eric McFadden joined Mule for the cover. Later on in the night, guitarist Duane Betts sat in on the Allman Brothers’ “Blue Sky” as well as the final of “Whipping Post.” Vivino and Betts then returned for the encore, another Allman-centric performance, as the group delivered “Melissa” and “Mountain Jam” to close the show.

Mule’s tour continues tomorrow night in Austin, TX as a part of the Austin City Limits series.

Here’s a look at the setlist as it appears in our Box Scores section:

Gov’t Mule
Wiltern Theatre Los Angeles, CA

Set I: Railroad Boy > Thorazine Shuffle, Beautifully Broken, Traveling Tune, Revolution Come, Revolution Go, Unring The Bell, Endless Parade, Dirty Work*, Walter Becker Tribute Jam^ > Don’t Take Me Alive^

Set II: Maggot Brain^^, Stone Cold Rage, Dark Was The Night, Cold Was The Ground, Trane (with Norwegian Wood tease) > Eternity’s Breath > St. Stephen Jam, Blue Sky^^^, Whipping Post^^^

Enc: Melissa% > Mountain Jam% > Melissa%

*with Jimmy Vivino, Jeff Young & Scott Paige
^with Jimmy Vivino, Jeff Young, Scott Paige & John Molo; without Matt Abts
^^with Eric McFadden
^^^with Duane Betts
%with Jimmy Vivino & Duane Betts