The next installment of the Dave’s Picks Grateful Dead series takes from a 1970 show the band played in Hawaii early in the year. The show was originally recorded by Owsley Stanley.

Dave’s Picks Volume 19: Honolulu, HI, January 23, 1970 is taken from the Dead’s show at the Honolulu Civic Auditorium and is the first Dave’s Picks to come from the island state. As notes, the timing of the show finds the band at the turn of the decade, “riding the great wave of change, with a fresh take for a career-defining new decade. Witness as they smoothly transition from the ‘Sound of 1969’ and its chaotic psychedelia with their cohesive country-tinged, song-oriented harmonies.”

The setlist, which can be seen below in full, features highlights like a 35-minute take on “Turn On Your Lovelight,” “Dark Star,” “Hard to Handle,” “Good Lovin’,” “I’m A King Bee” and a show-closing “Dancing in the Streets,” along with cuts from the then-upcoming Workingman’s Dead like “Black Peter” and “Dire Wolf.”

The three-disc collection will be released on August 1. More information is available here. Watch a video with archivist David Lemieux discussing his pick of this show below.

Dave’s Picks Volume 19 Track List

Disc 1
1. China Cat Sunflower>
2. I Know You Rider>
3. Black Peter
4. The Yellow Dog Story
5. Hard To Handle
6. Mama Tried
7. Casey Jones
8. Dire Wolf
9. Good Lovin’
10. That’s It For The Other One

Disc 2
1. Dark Star>
2. St. Stephen
3. Turn On Your Lovelight

Disc 3
1. Cumberland Blues
2. Cold Rain And Snow
3. Me And My Uncle
4. I’m A King Bee
5. Mason’s Children
6. Black Peter
7. Good Lovin’
8. Feedback>
9. And We Bid You Goodnight
10. Dancing In The Street