Joan Osborne will explore the blues on her new album, Bring it On Home . A collection of some of her favorite classic songs, Bring it On Home is Osborne’s tribute to her musical roots.

“I knew that, someday, when the time was right and my voice was ready,” Osborne said in a statement , “I wanted to make a recording like the one you’re holding now.” With vocals that growl and soar, Osborne alternately cries out with heart-wrenching soul and foot-stomping grooves. The voices of Otis Redding and Al Green soothed a troubled soul, the power of Etta James and Tina Turner gave me courage, and the depth of feeling of Muddy Waters and so many other great blues artists allowed me to find and express my own depths. When I began to sing in New York City in my early 20’s, I wanted nothing more than to model myself on these people, to inhabit the music as they did in some small way.”

Bring it On Home was produced by Osborne and her longtime music director/guitarist Jack Petruzzelli. It was recorded live in the Waterfront Studios in Hudson, NY by engineer Henry Hirsch (Lenny Kravitz), who used an original 24 track Studer tape machine to recreate the warm and organic analogue sound of the era. Guest musicians include Barbecue Bob Pomeroy (harmonica), Allen Toussaint (piano on his own “Shoorah! Shoorah!”) and vocalists the Holmes Brothers and Rufus Thomas’ daughter, Vaneese Thomas. Jimmy Vivino, Conan O’Brien Show Band musical director, assembled all horn arrangements and also played electric piano on “I Don’t Need no Doctor.” The album will be released on March 27 via Saguaro Road Records.

Here’s a look at the album’s tracks

1. I Don’t Need no Doctor
2. Bring it on Home
3. Roll Like A Big Wheel
4. Game of Love
5. Broken Wing
6. Shoorah! Shoorah!
7. I Want to Be Loved
8. Same Love that Made Me Laugh
9. Shake Your Hips
10. I’m Qualified
11. Champagne and Wine
12. Rhymes