Experience Hendrix LLC and Sony Music Entertainment’s Legacy Recordings will release a number of Jimi Hendrix catalog albums in 2010. The first album to see the light of day is Valleys of Neptune, a set of 12 fully-realized studio recordings never officially released. The album centers around tracks recorded during a pivotal and turbulent four-month period in 1969—the final time the Jimi Hendrix Experience recorded as a group. The album also includes sessions with Hendrix’s army buddy and bassist Billy Cox. The album is said to offer a view of “the critical period between the release of Electric Ladyland in October 1968 and the 1970 opening of his own Electric Lady Studios in Greenwich Village, the state of the art facility where he would begin his final project, the ambitious double album First Rays of the New Rising Sun.”

The song “Valleys of Neptune” will be released as a single on February 2, 2010. Other highlights on Valleys of Neptune include studio covers of Elmore James’ classic “Bleeding Heart” and Cream’s “Sunshine of Your Love,” as well as the original Hendrix compositions “Ships Passing Through The Night” and “Lullaby For The Summer.” The album also features the original un-dubbed Jimi Hendrix Experience rendition of “Hear My Train A Comin’” and “Mr. Bad Luck,” a Jimi Hendrix Experience track produced by Chas Chandler during the 1967 Axis: Bold as Love sessions. Legacy Recordings will also be release new deluxe CD/DVD editions of Are You Experienced?, Axis: Bold As Love, Electric Ladyland and First Rays of the New Rising Sun on March 9.