Photo by Alysse Gafkjen

A new tribute album, which celebrates the songs and career of legendary country star John Anderson, will be released on August 5 via Easy Eye Sound. Something Borrowed, Something New: A Tribute to John Anderson showcases 13 new versions of timeless Anderson tunes, performed by a slew of talented industry titans. Ahead of the LP release, they have also debuted the official music video for Gillian Welch and David Rawlings’ take on “I Just Came Home to Count the Memories.” 

Dan Auerbach and David Ferguson produced the forthcoming album, which features tracks performed by Brothers Osborne, Tyler Childers, Eric Church, Brent Cobb, Luke Combs, Sierra Ferrell, Sierra Hull, Jamey Johnson, Ashley McBryde, Del McCoury, John Prine, Nathaniel Rateliff, Sturgill Simpson, Gillian Welch and David Rawlings. 

“Listening to everybody do their own takes on the songs shows how the songs really come through. And I thought to myself, ‘You might have been young and foolish back then, but you sure did pick some good songs,’” shared Anderson. “It’s very gratifying to know that some things really do not change, and a great country song remains a great country song. Any one person on the record would be a real tribute, but all of them together? It’s a pretty big deal for me personally,” he concludes. 

In addition, Auerbach added, “We weren’t trying to piddle around and make the normal tribute record. It had to be the best singers with the best songs and the best arrangements, and they had to come into the studio. This wasn’t like, ‘Mail me the song, and we’ll put it together.’ I think it makes this record unique. I don’t think most tribute records are done like this. I think that’s why it sounds like a cohesive album. It feels like an amazing mix tape.”

In accompaniment with the album announcement, they have shared the music video for Welch and Rawlings’ rendition of “I Just Came Home to Count the Memories.” The title track from Anderson’s 1981 LP, features Welch’s pristine vocals applied to the monumental song. While Rawling’s guitar virtuoso takes listeners on an emotionally strummed journey. Together, the pair blend their skills to deliver an extraordinary take a timeless number.

Pre-order Something Borrowed, Something New: A Tribute to John Anderson here

Watch the official music video for “I Just Came Home To Count The Memories” below. 

Scroll down to view the complete tracking list.

Something Borrowed, Something New: A Tribute to John Anderson Tracklist: 

1. “1959” performed by John Prine

2. “Years” performed by Sierra Ferrell

3. “Wild and Blue” performed by Brent Cobb

4. “Low Dog Blues” performed by Nathaniel Rateliff

5. “Mississippi Moon” performed by Eric Church

6. “I Just Came Home to Count the Memories” performed by Gillian Welch & David Rawlings

7. “Shoot Low Sheriff!” performed by Tyler Childers

8. “Seminole Wind” performed by Luke Combs

9. “When It Comes to You” performed by Sturgill Simpson

10. “You Can’t Judge A Book (By The Cover)” performed by Brothers Osborne

11. “Would You Catch A Falling Star” performed by Del McCoury feat. Sierra Hull

12. “Straight Tequila Night” performed by Ashley McBryde

13. “I’m Just An Old Chunk of Coal (But I’m Gonna Be a Diamond Some Day)” performed by Jamey Johnson