The line-up for the 3rd annual Jammys has been confirmed. The event, which honors improvisational musicians, will be held October 2 at Roseland Ballroom in New York City. Performers include Ratdog, Mike Gordon and Leo Kottke, Govt Mule, moe., members of The B-52s, Rusted Root, The Blind Boys of Alabama, Robert Randolph and the Family Band and Particle. The house band will be Tom Tom Club (featuring Chris Frantz and Tina Weymouth, formerly of the Talking Heads) with Dirty Dozen Brass Band. More artists will be announced in the coming weeks.
This will be a fine, fine night, says Dean Budnick, who founded the event with Wetlands owner Pete Shapiro three years ago. We’re obviously real psyched and gratified that these players will join us on October 2. I hope that everyone who came out the past two years will have the chance to celebrate the scene with us once again. My tux is even itching to make its third annual appearance.’
The Grateful Dead will be given the Lifetime Achievement Award, which Weir will accept on their behalf. In addition, Jammys will be presented to winners in nine categories: Studio Album of the Year; Live Release of the Year; Live Performance of the Year; Tour of the Year; Song of the Year; New Groove Award; Fan Web Site of the Year, the Mimi Fishman Community Service Award and Archival Album of the Year.
To purchase tickets or to vote, visit