Stanley Mouse might be best known as one of the Bay Area’s finest and most well-respected psychedelic poster artists, producing original iconography forever synonymous with some of the region’s and the 1960s’ greatest acts. To mark Mouse’s contributions, an all-star assembly of talent will cover 12 songs across the impending LP, The Mouse That Rocked, ranging in pulls from the bands featured in the visual artist’s work, such as the Grateful Dead, Jefferson Airplane, and more. 

Adding their twists on legendary material are a range of artists, friends and admirers of Mouse, who have contributed to the forthcoming set, including Chuck Leavell, Leftover Salmon, Charlie Musselwhite, Nicole Atkins, Shawn Sahm & The Tex Mex Experience, Junior Brown, Nicki Bluhm & The Gramblers, Poor Man’s Whiskey, The Mother Hips, Dan “Lebo” Lebowitz, Jason Crosby and the Pimps of Joytime.

Outside of the Dead and Jefferson Airplane, the contemporary list of contributors to the album format will also include borrowed tunes from the likes of Journey, Cream, The Beatles, Big Brother and the Holding Company, Bo Diddley, Sir Douglas Quintet, Moby Grape, Howlin’ Wolf, and others–a roster that reflects Mouse’s esteemed clientele. 

The Mouse That Rocked is slated to include liner notes by San Francisco music critic and author Joel Selvin, along with new adaptations of old favorites. As a nod toward the art and the artist, the LP has been adorned with a self-portrait of a la Mouse, adding to the presentation’s intimate feel. 

The Mouse That Rocked is due out in April. Pre-order now via Blue Rose Music Foundation, which intends to dedicate 100% of its net gain to providing preschool scholarships to underprivileged children.