Photo Credit: Danny Clinch

Today, Trey Anastasio has announced plans to release a new collection of live performances from his eight-week virtual residency at The Beacon Theatre in New York City during the fall of 2020. The new album has been dubbed The Beacon Jams and is due on Friday, Nov. 25. Also included in today’s announcement is the video of Anastasio’s live performance of “What’s The Use,” watch below. 

The recorded performances which make up the upcoming album were tracked with no audience present and livestreamed across the globe for eight consecutive Fridays. The Beacon Jams features 18 songs spread over 145 minutes. Mixed by Vance Powell, the collection captures acoustic and electric moments as Anastasio works through a selection of solo material, Trey Anastasio Band favorites and reimagined versions of Phish classics. 

Anastasio commented, “I absolutely loved The Beacon Jams. We would end on Friday night, the stream would click off, and I’d go home and start planning the next one. With each passing week, we all got more comfortable. Everyone was making discoveries.” 

The Beacon Jams–which will mark its second anniversary of the event’s final show on Nov. 27–included performances by TAB members Cyro Baptista, James Casey, Natalie Cressman, Jennifer Hartswick, Russ Lawton, Ray Paczkowski, and in his final performance with the ensemble, the late Tony Markellis. 

Also included are frequent collaborators such as Jeff Tanski, Celisse Henderson, Jo Lampert and the debut of The Rescue Squad, consisting of Katie Kresek, Maxim Moston, Rachel Golub, and Anjia Wood. 

The musician added, “What made it feel successful to me was that we weren’t trying to recreate a live concert. What I was hoping was that it would be a fresh form of entertainment – turning lemons into lemonade. I feel like that turned out to be the case.”

Proceeds from the new compilation will benefit The Divided Sky Foundation, an initiative launched by Anastasio to finance a residential recovery program in Ludlow, Vt., which is set to open in spring 2023. To learn more or make a donation, visit their official website.

For more information about the impending LP, visit Scroll down to see the complete tracking list.

Photo by Danny Clinch.

The Beacon Jams Tracking List: 

  1. Corona 
  2. A Wave of Hope 
  3. What’s The Use 
  4. And Flew Away
  5. The Moma Dance 
  6. The Silver Light 
  7. Pebbles and Marbles 
  8. Bouncing Around the Room 
  9. Carini
  10. I Never Left Home 
  11. Money, Love and Change 
  12. Last Tube 
  13. Quantegy 
  14. You Enjoy Myself 
  15. Goodbye Head 
  16. Tube 
  17. Slave to the Traffic Light
  18. First Tube