Today, Sleater-Kinney have delivered Courtney Barnett’s take on their 1997 tune, “Words and Guitars,” off the group’s all-original album Dig Me Out, which has been reinterpreted by a talented list of musicians on the forthcoming Dig Me In: A Dig Me Out Covers Album, due out on Oct. 21.

Back in April, Sleater-Kinney celebrated the 25th anniversary of their third studio album by announcing their plans to reissue a new take on the old classic, Dig Me Out, covered by a plethora of artists such as St. Vincent, Wilco, Margo Price, The Linda Lindas, the husband and wife duo of Amanda Shires and Jason Isbell, as well as many others. See the complete list below.

The updated track list was also shared today, along with the names of the artists who work through the group’s material on the impending covers album. In addition, Sleater-Kinney offered a comment via social media, where they wrote: “The artists who appear on Dig Me In have not so much covered the thirteen original songs but reinterpreted and reimagined them.”

The statement continued: “Through added layers or the subtraction of guitars and drums, they provide a new way into the songs. Fresh rage, joy, pain, reclamation, slyness, and longing. Other interpretations slow down or stretch out the songs, trading urgency for contemplation, weariness or even a hint of ease.” 

The Olympia, Wash. natives also shared that a quarter of the net proceeds raised through the sale of Dig Me In: A Dig Me Out Covers Album will benefit the Portland, Ore. based charity SMYRC (Sexual & Gender Minority Resource Center). For those interested in learning more or making a financial contribution toward the band’s chosen charity, visit their official website

Listen to Courtney Barnett’s take on “Words and Guitar” below.

Track List for Dig Me In: A Dig Me Out Covers Album:

1. Dig Me Out – St. Vincent

2. One More Hour – Wilco

3. Turn It On – Margo Price

4. The Drama You’ve Been Craving – Tunde Adebimpe

5. Heart Factory – Self Esteem

6. Words and Guitar – Courtney Barnett

7. It’s Enough – Black Belt Eagle Scout

8. Little Babies – The Linda Lindas

9. Not What You Want – Jason Isbell and Amanda Shires

10. Buy Her Candy – Tyler Cole

11. Things You Say – Big Joanie

12. Dance Song ’97 – Low

13. Jenny – NNAMDÏ