Sam Holt—the late Michael Houser’s guitar tech, occasional Widespread Panic guest performer and Outformation band member—formed his own quartet in Colorado in 2011. The result is a seven-track debut album that features Panic frontman, John Bell and Bloodkin’s Danny Hutchens, and delivers a passionate work that spans numerous country textures within a Southern rock
vein. With more than a hint of road wisdom obtained from a lifetime of sharp company, a keen set of ears and Holt’s natural talent, the guitarist/ vocalist looms over the work—ready to rock—with a slice of anthemic poise on robust cuts like “Jesco,” which jells and jams, while “No Surrender” offers formidable chops. The title track underscores the inspired song cycle with modest grace.