To commemorate the 50th anniversary of Jerry Garcia’s seminal 1972 debut, the self-titled Garcia, the Jerry Garcia Family and Round Records have announced the Dec. 2 rerelease of the album. The latest edition has been expanded to include two discs, with a remastered original track list coupled with a secondary collection of alternative takes and studio jams perfectly accustomed for fans of the beloved San Francisco musician. 

Initially released in January 1972, Garcia peaked on the Billboard 200 charts at no. 35, and to this day, remains the highest-charting solo release of the Grateful Dead frontman’s solo career. The album sees instrumentals delivered by Garcia as he shows off his premiere skills on acoustic and electric guitar, pedal steel, bass piano, and organ, paired with immaculate vocalization. Additionally, Garcia received Bill Kreutzmann’s signature backbeat and Robert Hunter’s lyrical arrangements to generate a collection that has surpassed the test of time and become a cultural staple for fans of the genre.

Expanding upon Garcia’s landmark debut, the 50th-anniversary deluxe release is slated to include the original LP with the analog mix master reels, outtakes, and explorations from the initial studio sessions, which have been pressed to vinyl for the first time. Garcia‘s 50th-anniversary edition will be presented on 180g gold nugget vinyl and pressed in a limited run of 10,000. Moreover, the impending collection includes liner notes written by a longtime senior editor at Rolling Stone, David Fricke. 

While the album initially included ten original tracks, only six would work out to be classics and fan favorites with particular on-stage association with the Grateful Dead. Amongst the previously mentioned tunes that have become stand-outs “Deal,” “Bird Song,” “Sugaree,” “Loser,” “To Lay Me Down,” and “The Wheel,” were feverishly worked into the jamband’s catalog. Additionally, the impending drop features a slew of alternative takes and studio jams, giving fans a moment to pause and reflect upon Garcia’s unmatched talent with the material he generously shared in 1972.

The 50th-anniversary edition of Garcia is available for pre-order now. View the official tracklist below. 


  1. Deal
  2. Bird Song
  3. Sugaree
  4. Loser


  1. Late for Supper
  2. Spidergawd
  3. Eep Hour
  4. To Lay Me Down
  5. An Odd Little Place
  6. The Wheel


  1. Sugaree (Alternate Take)
  2. Loser (Alternate Take)
  3. Late for Supper / Spidergawd / Eep Hour (Alternate Takes)


  1. The Wheel (Alternate Take #1)
  2. The Wheel (Alternate Take #2)
  3. Study for “Eep Hour”
  4. Dealin’ from the Bottom (Studio Jam)
  5. Study for “The Wheel”