Today, Jorma Kaukonen announced the upcoming rerelease of his 1996 LP Christmas. Available for the first time on vinyl, the album can be purchased in red or green pressings for the holidays in either the Christmas Tree or the Candy Cane editions.

The intimate record hosts a balance of instrumentals and vocals delivered in Kaukonen’s signature style, along with longtime friend Michael Falzarano on guitar and sleigh bells. The LP will host unique arrangements of traditional standards as well as original compositions. It is also the only time Kaukonen has performed keys on a recording.  

Recorded at A-Frame Studios on Fur Peace Ranch in Meigs County, Ohio, the LP was originally released by Relix Records in 1996. The reissue of Christmas is being released by Culture Factory-USA in limited edition and will be available for purchase on Record Store Day Black Friday on Nov. 26.

The digital release is set for Dec. 3 or go here to find the nearest store near you.

Christmas Track List

  1. “Downhill Sleigh Ride” (Jorma Kaukonen, Michael Falzarano) – 3:33
  2. “Christmas Rule” (Kaukonen, Falzarano, Vanessa Lillian) – 4:00
  3. “What Child Is This?” (Traditional) – 2:57
  4. “Christmas Blues” (Falzarano) – 4:35
  5. “Journey of the Three Wise Men” (Kaukonen, Falzarano) – 4:36
  6. “Baby Boy” (Traditional) – 3:45
  7. “You’re Still Standing” (Falzarano) – 3:26
  8. “Silent Night” (Traditional) – 4:52
  9. “Holiday Marmalade” (Kaukonen, Falzarano) – 11:39
  10. “Holiday Segue” – 0:20