The multi-platinum-selling band America has announced the impending release of its live album, America – Live From The Hollywood Bowl 1975, due Sept. 16, 2024, via Primary Wave Music. Previously only available as a Record Store Day exclusive, the forthcoming drop presents never-before-heard recordings of the band’s iconic 1975 concert at the Hollywood Bowl, backed by a symphony conducted by the legendary George Martin. As a preview of what’s to come, the band has shared the initial single off the set, the fan favorite, “Ventura Highway.” 

The previously mentioned recording was tracked during America’s August 3, 1975 stand at the lauded Hollywood Bowl venue in Los Angeles with symphonic backing, making for unique renditions of beloved classics like “Sister Golden Hair,” “A Horse With No Name,” “Ventura Highway,” and others. Recently restored and remastered, the set will be offered on CD, a new red vinyl variant, and digitally for the first time this fall.

“As I recall, this show at the Hollywood Bowl was planned to highlight the summer of 1975. The release of our 5th album, Hearts, in March of that year had been a great success and included our second #1 single, ‘Sister Golden Hair,’ so we were at the top of our game. We had developed a great partnership with Sir George Martin the year before with our first project together in London, the album Holiday. And the making of Hearts at the Record Plant in Sausalito, CA, had been fun and creative. Meanwhile, the live performance had evolved into a strong show, and we toured a lot that year playing large sold-out venues,” offered Dewey Bunnell via press release. 

Gerry Buckley added, “We’ve done thousands of shows throughout our career, but this special night with our dear friend and producer George Martin ranks near the very top of the list!” Hitting on a similar sentiment, Brunnell tacked on, “Now, almost 50 years later, the recording of that night is finally available, and it sounds great. It represents the only full concert live recording of the original trio, including Dan Peek as well as Gerry and I. I’m grateful to have this great-sounding record of that special night in 1975!”

Listen to “Ventura Highway” and watch the lyrical video below. Pre-order America – Live From The Hollywood Bowl 1975. Scroll down to view the collection’s complete tracking list.


  1. Miniature (Live)
  2. Tin Man (Live)
  3. Muskrat Love (Live)
  4. Baby It’s Up To You (Live)
  5. Moon Song (Live)
  6. Old Man Took (Live)
  7. Old Virginia (Live)
  8. I Need You (Live)
  9. Lonely People (Live)
  10. Don’t Cross The River (Live)
  11. Ventura Highway (Live)
  12. Glad To See You (Live)
  13. Woman Tonight (Live)
  14. The Story Of A Teenager (Live)
  15. Midnight (Live)
  16. Company (Live)
  17. Hollywood (Live)
  18. Daisy Jane (Live)
  19. Sister Golden Hair (Live)
  20. A Horse With No Name (Live)