Photo Credit: Kelly Christine Sutton

Kacey Musgraves has detailed her impending fifth studio LP, Deeper Well, due on March 15 via Interscope/MCA Nashville. The seven-time Grammy Award-winning artist shared the first listen by dropping the title track, delivered alongside a companion video directed by Hannah Lux Davis. Watch below. 

Musgraves’ latest musical endeavor draws upon the rich musical legacy and vitality of New York’s Greenwich Village with help from collaborators Daniel Tashian and Ian Fitchuk. Mostly recorded at Electric Lady Studios, the musician commented, “I was seeking some different environmental energy, and Electric Lady has the best mojo. Great ghosts.”

Musgraves invigorates 14 tracks with emotive contemplations through the watchful descriptors of her surroundings. “Saturn returns, cardinals embody a dead friend, love is given and taken, streets rush by, belongings are packed and old chapters deserted, new love blooms, jade bracelets serve as talismans, deep lessons emerge, small details define everything, the woods are a refuge and New York City serves as the same gleaming beacon as Oz,” present the artist’s press release. 

“Sometimes you reach a crossroads. Winds change direction. What you once felt drawn to doesn’t hold the same allure,” Musgraves added, “you get blown off course but eventually find your footing and forage for new inspiration, new insight and deeper love somewhere else.” 

Pre-order Deeper Well. Stream the title track here, and watch the visual companion piece below. 

Deeper Well track listing:

1.   Cardinal

2.   Deeper Well

3.   Too Good to be True

4.   Moving Out

5.   Giver / Taker

6.   Sway

7.   Dinner with Friends

8.   Heart of the Woods

9.   Jade Green

10. The Architect

11. Lonely Millionaire

12. Heaven Is

13. Anime Eyes

14. Nothing to be Scared Of