Photo Credit: Josh Goleman

The National have released the third new track off the upcoming album First Two Pages of Frankenstein. Entitled “Eucalyptus,” the new song is taut and punchy and came as a result of the band’s burst of spontaneity surrounding a visit to the acclaimed Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, N.Y. In addition to the latest preview of the record, the band also shared the adjoining music video. 

The story goes that Bryce Dessner sent “Eucalyptus” to The National frontman Matt Berninger so long ago that he’d forgotten about it, but Berninger came up with lyrics and asked to play it during soundcheck hours before the Capitol Theatre show. “We rehearsed it twice without ever having had a demo and played it to the audience that night, and what you hear on the album was partially recorded during that performance,” Berninger offered.

The primary lyricist for the ensemble added, “It’s got this raw, immediate feeling, and it made sense to leave the rough edges instead of trying to perfect them.” According to the band’s press release, Berninger was inspired by the lyrics from the labyrinthine theme of fractured relationships.

“Throughout the record, there’s a lot of looking into the abyss and wondering if a relationship has run its course,” he continues. “‘Eucalyptus’ is about a couple splitting up their possessions after a breakup—like, ‘What are we going to do with the spring water we get delivered, what’s going to happen to all these plants?’ It’s about all those little things you end up having to think about when you’ve become so connected to someone.”

The audio for “Eucalyptus” is accompanied by an official video directed by Chris Sgroi and shot at Long Pond by Sgroi and Tom Berninger. Watch below. 

First Two Pages of Frankenstein tracklist:

  1. Once Upon A Poolside (feat. Sufjan Stevens) 
  2. Eucalyptus 
  3. New Order T-Shirt 
  4. This Isn’t Helping (feat. Phoebe Bridgers) 
  5. Tropic Morning News
  6. Alien 
  7. The Alcott (feat. Taylor Swift) 
  8. Grease In Your Hair 
  9. Ice Machines 
  10. Your Mind Is Not Your Friend (feat. Phoebe Bridgers)
  11. Send For Me