Photo by John Patrick Gatta

Last night, during Pearl Jam’s performance at the Save Mart Center in Fresno, Calif. the group’s original drummer Dave Krusen joined them for his first full concert performance with the group since May 25, 1991. Pearl Jam’s current drummer, Matt Cameron, is still sitting out performances since he tested positive for COVID-19; the band has recently been performing with a cast of rotating drummers in his stead.

Pearl Jam opened the night with “Elderly Woman Behind the Counter in a Small Town,” and moved through their discography hitting fan favorites including “Given to Fly,” “Do the Evolution,” “Daughter” and more. They then busted out the deep cut “Don’t Gimme No Lip” – guitarist Stone Gossard handled vocals and the performance marked the song’s 14th time ever played, and first since 2016.

Krusen then came on stage to relive the magic of his seven-month stint in Pearl Jam that included the just-established band’s first recording sessions and tours. He performed all but two songs from Pearl Jam’s debut album, Ten. The only songs missing from the LP were “Oceans” and “Release.” It’s also notable that Krusen’s only other on-stage appearance with Pearl Jam – since he left due to struggles with alcohol and other personal problems – was during their 2017 induction ceremony into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame.

Much like last week’s shows in Oakland, Calif., Pearl Jam touring members Josh Klinghoffer and Richard Stuverud, along with longtime collaborator of Pearl Jam bassist Jeff Ament, traded off on drums throughout the night. Towards the tail end of the main set, Klinghoffer performed the debut cover of Prince’s “Purple Rain,” which he had previously played as a member of Eddie Vedder’s solo band The Earthlings.

Pearl Jam encored with four tracks off Ten with Krusen before closing with a cover of The Who’s “Baba O’Riley” and “Yellow Ledbetter.”

See the full setlist below.

Pearl Jam
Save Mart Center – Fresno, Calif.
May 16, 2022

Set: Elderly Woman Behind the Counter in a Small Town, Given to Fly, Do the Evolution, Corduroy, Wishlist, Daughter, Don’t Gimme No Lip (Stone Gossard on vocals, first time live since 2016), Once (with Dave Krusen), Why Go (with Dave Krusen), Even Flow (with Dave Krusen) Garden (with Dave Krusen) Black (with Dave Krusen), Eruption (Van Halen cover), Animal, Quick Escape, Throw Your Hatred Down (Neil Young cover), Purple Rain (Prince cover) (Josh Klinghoffer on lead vocals, live debut), Porch (with Dave Krusen)

Enc.: Jeremy (with Dave Krusen), Deep (with Dave Krusen), State of Love and Trust (with Dave Krusen), Alive (with Dave Krusen), Baba O’Riley (The Who cover), Yellow Ledbetter