Photo by Danny Clinch

Marcus King has announced the forthcoming release of his new solo album, Young Blood. The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach produced the musician’s latest endeavor, which is scheduled to debut on August 26 via Rick Rubin’s American Records/Republic Records. 

The 26-year-old Grammy-nominated performer presents his signature blend of rock-infused soul swagger on the forthcoming release. King shared, “I was going through a lot during the album with addiction, breakups, and addictions because of breakups. I was overindulging in everything.” He continued,” It’s not a big secret to my friends. I was in a real rough place for a while. I was trying to process the death of a family member and I was on the wrong medications.” 

From that pain and experience comes Young Blood, an 11-track LP that touches on a variety of subjects unique to the life of a young road dog, who has made a name for himself by packing stadiums and drawing large crowds to sold-out venues. King offered, “We tour almost 200 days of the year, and even when I’m home, I’m doing something.” 

Before the release of King’s latest LP, he will hit the road for a headlining tour across the U.S. and Europe. The rocker will also see several festival stops, including performances at Stagecoach, Bottlerock Napa Valley, Azkena Rock Festival and Bourbon & Beyond.

In addition to King’s album announcement, he also debuted the first single off the forthcoming LP, “Hard Working Man,” which displays his fiery guitar riffs and well-greased pipes. King’s producer, Auerbach, shared, “Music runs so deep in Marcus’s blood he might not even realize how born to do this he is.”

Pre-order Young Blood now. 

 Stream “Hard Working Man” below. 

Young Blood Tracking List: 

  1. It’s Too Late
  2. Lie Lie Lie
  3. Rescue Me
  4. Pain
  5. Good and Gone
  6. Blood On The Tracks
  7. Hard Working Man
  8. Aim High
  9. Dark Cloud
  10. Whisper
  11. Blues Worse Than I Ever Had