Photo by Rene Huemer

Trey Anastasio Band has announced that they will release a new live album, titled Burn It Down, this Friday, Sept. 18. The album was produced by Vance Powell, who has worked with Phish, Chris Stapleton, Jack White and many others. The recordings that make up the record come from TAB’s January 2020 tour.

“Over the past few years there’s been an indescribable momentum with TAB,” said Anastasio via press release. “The band seems to get tighter with each successive tour. This past January, we were firing on all cylinders, and it was reflected in the faces of the people coming to the shows. I could feel it and see it every single night — the intensity of the dancing, the smiles on people’s faces, the feeling of unity.”

“So immediately after that tour, I put plans in motion to begin a TAB album in the spring,” he continued. “The pandemic changed those plans, and when everything was cancelled, I began working at home on what would later become Lonely Trip. Meanwhile, my friend Vance Powell, who produced this new TAB album, called and told me there was already enough great material on tape from the January tour to make the best TAB album ever, and make it a live album. So he started sending me mixes. I loved them. We both agreed that ‘Burn It Down,’ a line from the song ‘Set Your Soul Free,’ was the perfect title, because it encapsulated exactly what had been happening onstage every night.”

“Producing and mixing Burn It Down has been absolutely one of my favorite projects ever,” added Powell. “The band is slamming!”

“When I listen to this album, it reminds me how much I miss playing live music,” Anastasio concluded. “In some ways, it’s hard for me to listen for that reason. I can’t wait to experience this again. I miss it so much.”

The entirety of Burn It Down will premiere in its entirety on SiriusXM’s Phish Radio on Sept. 17 (tomorrow) at 9 p.m. ET. Anastasio will also perform tomorrow night as part of SummerStage Jubilee.

Check out the full tracklist for Burn It Down below!

Burn It Down Tracklist:
Camel Walk
Set Your Soul Free
About To Run
Rise Come Together
Dark And Down
Alive Again
Ether Sunday
Love Is What We Are
Simple Twist Up Dave
First Tube