The Rex Foundation and Little Kids Rock have teamed up to produce a remote cover of the Grateful Dead’s “Touch of Grey.” The video features a litany of musicians including Billy Strings, Trombone Shorty, Jeff Chimenti, members of Los Lobos, Linday Ell, Don Was, Jay Lane, Shira Elias and more. In addition, the video includes public school students.

According to a press release, “the funds raised from online donations will be split between the two organizations to support music teachers by providing professional development and other resources to help teachers learn to teach music virtually while many schools remain physically closed. Little Kids Rock has pioneered innovative, popular music education techniques in public schools across the country, serving over a million students in underserved communities since 2002.”

“Music is a powerful healing force – a lesson taught to us over and over again by the Grateful Dead, particularly in Touch Of Grey,” said Cameron Sears, Executive Director of Rex Foundation (via press release). “We are proud to once again support Little Kids Rock, who continues to lead the charge in helping build inclusive music programs in schools across the country.”

“Rex Foundation was one of the first funders to support our work when I was a public school teacher in the San Francisco Bay Area just trying to get this free music program started for my students,” said David Wish, founder and CEO of Little Kids Rock (also via release). “This has been such a wonderful opportunity to work with them and a host of artists and students to promote a positive message through music at a time when kids need music education as much as ever.”

For more information, head to or See the full roster of the video and watch below!

  • David Hidalgo (Los Lobos) – guitar, vocals
  • Trombone Shorty – trombone, trumpet
  • Steve Berlin (Los Lobos) – sax
  • Louie Perez (Los Lobos) – guitar
  • Lindsay Ell – guitar, vocals
  • Billy Strings – guitar, vocals
  • Don Was – bass
  • Jay Lane – drums, vocals
  • Jeff Chimenti – keys
  • Mark Rivers (Tedeschi Trucks Band) – vocals
  • Shira Elias (Turkuaz) – vocals
  • Making Movies (Enrique Chi, Juan Carlos Chaurand, Diego Chi, & Duncan Burnett) – vocals