Photo by Wes Orshoski

Ahead of his upcoming compilation set DIGGING DEEP, Robert Plant has shared a previously unreleased track “Charlie Patton Highway (Turn It Up – Part 1).” According to a press release, the track is taken from “the soon-to-be-released album Band of Joy Volume 2.” DIGGING DEEP itself will be available on Oct. 2.

“I spent time in the hill country of north Mississippi around Como, dropping back to Clarksdale, the incredible center of black music talent over the years,” said Plant of the track, via press release. “I weaved my car through the Delta back roads, listening to the remarkable protestations of Mississippi AM radio. I was looking at my world and my times from this unfamiliar place and found myself exposed to a nightmare world of half-truths.”

According to a press release, “Plant is accompanied throughout DIGGING DEEP by a truly remarkable lineup of musicians, including Jimmy Page, Buddy Miller, Patty Griffin, Phil Collins, Nigel Kennedy, Richard Thompson, and his brothers, Strange Sensation/ The Sensational Space Shifters.”

Click here to listen to “Charlie Patton Highway (Turn It Up – Part 1).” To pre-order DIGGING DEEP, click here.