photo by Vic Brazen

On Saturday, Feb. 15, Karina Rykman welcomed a batch of guests at Freaks Ball XX, including Scott Metzger and Katie Jacoby of The Showdown Kids and Tom Malach of Garcia Peoples.

Rykman performed mini sets between Joe Russo’s new Hawaiii project as well as The Showdown Kids; she was backed by her regular band featuring Adam November on guitar and Chris Corsico on drums.

Rykman’s first outing included her original “Plants” and a jam through “Goji Island”> “The Rift.” The latter tune also acted as a nod to Ween, who were performing across the river at Manhattan’s Terminal 5.

“Dirty South” kicked off Rykman’s second set, before the bassist welcomed Malach to add guitar to yet another Ween cover, the Chocolate and Cheese cut “Joppa Road.”

No Doubt’s “Hella Good” followed and KR closed her second set with her newest single “Elevator.”

For her final set, Rykman welcomed Metzger and Jacoby for a stand-alone take on Marc Ribot’s “Aqui Como Alla,” before taking the stage once more for Soul Coughing’s “4 Out Of 5” and a pairing of “2fish 1fish” through George McCrae’s “I Get Lifted.”

“What a time last night! 3 sets! Thanks so much to the Freaks for having us,” Rykman wrote the following day.

For more info on Rykman visit her official website.

Check out all three setlists below:

What a time last night! 3 sets! Thanks so much to the Freaks for having us. And thanks to Katie Jacoby Scott Metzger and Tom Malach from Garcia Peoples for sitting in with me and Adam November and Chris Corsico! Total blast.

Posted by Karina Rykman on Sunday, February 16, 2020

Karina Rykman
Feb. 15, 2020
Freaks Ball XX, The Bell House, Brooklyn

Set I:
Goji Island ->
The Rift (Ween cover)

Set II:
Dirty South
Joppa Road*
Hella Good (No Doubt cover)

Set III:
Aqui Como Alla^
4 Out Of 5 (Soul Coughing cover)
City Kids
2fish 1fish ->
I Get Lifted (George McCrae cover)

*Ween cover, with Tom Malach from Garcia Peoples
^Marc Ribot cover, with Scott Metzger + Katie Jacoby