Photo via @SCI_Official on IG

After their Halloween gig, the String Cheese Incident continued their three-night run in Austin with a trio special guests as well as a Thelonious Monk bust-out.

On Nov. 1, after opening the show with “One Step Closer,” SCI’s second set kicked off with a massive “On the Road”> “2001 (Also Sprach Zarathustra)”> “On The Road” jam that bled into Thelonious Monk’s “Well You Needn’t.” This marked the band’s first take on the 1947 composition in almost exactly 18 years, with its last onstage appearance being on Nov. 3, 2001. From there, the jam returned back to “Black and White” and continued in and out of covers like Dee-Lite’s “Groove Is In The Heart” and Paul Simon’s “Late in the Evening.”

The real highlight of SCI’s Nov. 2 show – on the other hand – didn’t arrive until the encore wherein guitarists Ross James and Scott Law as well as singer Nicki Bluhm all joined the Colorado jamband for “Deal” and “I Saw The Light.” (James, Law and Bluhm were all already in town for the Day of the Deadhead festival.)

For more information on The String Cheese Incident visit their official website.

Check out both setlists below:

The String Cheese Incident
Nov. 1, 2019
Waller Creek Amphitheatre, Austin, Tx.

Set I: One Step Closer, Born on the Wrong Planet > Can’t Wait Another Day > The Woods, Water, It Is What It Is > Can’t Stop Now

Set II: On the Road > 2001 (Also Sprach Zarathustra) > On The Road > Well You Needn’t^ > Black and White > Groove Is In The Heart > Black And White > Late in the Evening > Full Band Percussion > Late in the Evening, Until the Music’s Over, Into the Blue > Jellyfish > Rosie

Enc: Don’t Let Go

^Thelonius Monk cover LTP 11/3/01, Lexington, VA

The String Cheese Incident
Nov. 2, 2019
Waller Creek Amphitheatre, Austin, Tx.

Set I: Black Clouds, Got What He Wanted > Search > Falling Through The Cracks, Pack It Up, Texas > Tinder Box

Set II: All We Got, Cedar Laurels > So Far From Home, Midnight Moonlight, Hi Ho No Show, Vertigo > Rollover

Enc: Deal*, I Saw The Light*

*with Ross James on Guitar, Nicki Bluhm on Vocals, Scott Law on Guitar