photo by Alysse Gafkjen

Guitarist Marcus King has announced he will be releasing his debut solo album, El Dorado, Jan. 17 via Fantasy Records. The LP was produced by The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach at his Easy Eye Sound studio in Nashville.

For El Dorado, King collaborated with Auerbach and an all-star group of songwriters (like Pat McLaughlin, Paul Overstreet and Ronnie Bowman) and Easy Eye Sound musicians (like keyboardist Bobby Wood, drummer Gene Chrisman and bassist Dave Roe), as opposed to his usual Marcus King Band lineup.

“Marcus is known by so many as a phenom guitar player, and rightfully so. He’s regularly the best player in the room, hands down,” Auerbach says in a statement. “I was equally blown away by the way he can sing—so effortless, so soulful, straight from the heart. He’s a naturally gifted writer too, which was clear right away. Everything for him is so innate—that’s why he can always go right to the heart of a song and connect in a deeper way. He’s really one of a kind and I’m proud I got to work alongside him on this record.”

King has also shared a preview of the album with the track “The Well,” which, Kings says, “symbolizes the source of all my influences. It is everything that has happened to me to make me the man I am today.”

Listen to “The Well” and see the El Dorado tracklist below, and pre-order the album here. King and his band will kick off a batch of fall and winter tour dates Oct. 31 in Kansas City, MO. Check out their full schedule here.

El Dorado Tracklist:

1. “Young Man’s Dream” (Marcus King, Dan Auerbach, Pat McLaughlin)
2. “The Well” (King, Auerbach, Ronnie Bowman)
3. “Wildflowers & Wine” (King, Auerbach, Bowman)
4. “One Day She’s Here” (King, Auerbach, McLaughlin)
5. “Sweet Mariona” (King, Auerbach, Bowman)
6. “Beautiful Stranger” (King, Auerbach, Paul Overstreet)
7.  “Break” (King, Auerbach, McLaughlin)
8. “Say You Will” (King, Auerbach, Bowman)
9. “Turn It Up” (King, Auerbach, Overstreet)
10. “Too Much Whiskey” (King, Auerbach, Overstreet)
11. “Love Song” (King, Auerbach, Bobby Wood)
12. “No Pain” (King, Auerbach, McLaughlin)