photo via

Gov’t Mule just wrapped up a four-night run in North Carolina, playing in four different venues across the state, beginning with a show in frontman Warren Haynes’ hometown of Asheville that featured guest spots from a couple of longtime Mule collaborators, saxophonist Ron Holloway and guitarist Mike Barnes, a childhood friend of Haynes. The band then went on to welcome Holloway and Barnes during their subsequent performances in Charlotte and Greensboro, respectively.

First up was Holloway, who played with Mule on several tunes on Friday at The Fillmore in Charlotte, including “Sco-Mule” and “Soulshine” to close out the first set. The saxophonist then returned near the end of set two for “What Is Hip?” before helping Haynes and company round out the night with an encore of “Get Behind the Mule.”

The following evening at Greensboro’s White Oak Amphitheatre, Barnes reprised his sit in with the group, joining Mule for “Stratus” in the second set and for “32/20 Blues” during Saturday’s encore.

Check out both setlists below as they appear in our Box Scores section. Gov’t Mule’s summer tour continues July 10 in Charlottesville, VA.

Gov’t Mule
The Fillmore Charlotte, Charlotte, NC

Set I: Bad Little Doggie, Lola, Leave Your Light On, Mother Earth, Slackjaw Jezebel, Rocking Horse, Whisper In Your Soul, Sco-Mule*, Soulshine*

Set II:  Drawn That Way, Captured, Painted Silver Light, Scenes From A Troubled Mind > Starship Trooper Jam > The Gates Of Delirium Jam > Starship Trooper Jam  > Scenes From A Troubled Mind, Funny Little Tragedy, Mule > What Is Hip?* > Mule

Enc: Get Behind The Mule* 

Notes: * with Ron Holloway


White Oak Amphitheatre, Greensboro, NC

Set I: Traveling Tune, Railroad Boy, Thorazine Shuffle, Beautifully Broken, Revolution Come, Revolution Go, Lively Up Yourself, The Man I Want To Be, She Said She Said, Tomorrow Never Knows

Set II:  Broke Down On The Brazos > Tributary Jam > Thorns Of Life, No Need To Suffer > The Gates Of Delirium Jam > Starship Trooper Jam > The Gates Of Delirium Jam > Starship Trooper Jam > No Need To Suffer, Stratus*, Blind Man In The Dark > Traveling Tune

Enc: 32/20 Blues*

Notes: *with Mike Barnes