The National’s Bryce Dessner will continue his lauded career in classical-music composition with a new album, El Chan, set for release on April 5 via Deutsch Grammophon. The effort features sisters and renowned French piano duo Katia and Marielle Labèque, who will also be joining Dessner on a short spring tour in Europe, along with special guest Thom Yorke, as the Radiohead frontman will be debuting his own new work during the dates.

El Chan comprises three new compositions from Dessner: Concerto for Two Pianos, performed by the Labèques along with Orchestre de Paris and Matthias Pintscher; El Chan for two pianos, dedicated to film director and Dessner collaborator Alejandro Iñárritu (The Revenant); and Haven for two pianos and two guitars, which will receive its live debut during the tour dates.

Dubbed the Minimalist Dream House tour, Dessners outing with the Labèques and Yorke kicks off on April 7 in Paris before heading to Lyon, France; London; and Hamburg, Germany. See the dates and the tracklist and trailer video for El Chan below.

Dessner’s band The National also recently announced a new album and companion short film, I Am Easy to Find.


Minimalist Dream House Tour Dates

April 7  Paris, France – Philharmonie de Paris
April 8  Lyon, France – Auditorium de Lyon
April 9  London, UK –  Barbican
April 10  Hamburg, Germany – Elbphilharmonie



El Chan Tracklist

1 – First Movement
2 – Second Movement
3 – Third Movement


5 – El Charco del Ingenio
6 – Points of Light
7 – Four Winds
8 – Ballade d’Allende
9 – Coyote
10 – Pool of El Chan
11 – Mountain