North Mississippi Allstars guitarist Luther Dickinson is teaming up with a number of vocalists and instrumentalists for a new project, Sisters of the Strawberry Moon, and the collaboration’s debut album, Solstice, is set for release on March 22 via New West Records.

The Sisters are made up of singers Amy Helm and Amy LaVere, Americana duo Birds of Chicago, fife player/singer Shardé Thomas and gospel trio The Como Mamas, with each act appearing on different tracks throughout Solstice. Guest musicians on the album also include fiddler Lillie Mae Rische, organist Rev. Charles Hodges and Grammy-winning producer and musician Alvin Youngblood Hart.

“Each singer brought a handful of songs to the table,” Dickinson says in a press release. “Sometimes it was an old tune they wanted to reinterpret or something new they’d written that felt right for the cast of characters at hand, but no matter the track, all of our colors ended up mixing together on a communal palette.”

Dickinson and company have shared one track from the album, “Like a Songbird that Has Fallen” featuring Helm on vocals, and they will head out on their inaugural tour in March. Listen to the single and see the tour dates below, and pre-order Solstice here.



Luther Dickinson and Sisters of the Strawberry Moon Tour Dates 

March 11 – Chicago, IL – City Winery
March 13 – Nashville, TN – City Winery
March 14 – Atlanta, GA – City Winery
March 17 – Sellersville, PA – Sellersville Theater
March 18 – Boston, MA – City Winery
March 19 – New York, NY – City Winery
March 20 – Washington, DC – City Winery


Solstice Track Listing 

1. Superlover – featuring Birds of Chicago
2. Fly With Me – featuring Sharde Thomas
3. Hallelujah (I’m a Dreamer) – featuring Amy LaVere
4. Like A Songbird That Has Fallen – featuring Amy Helm
5. Kathy – featuring Birds of Chicago
6. Hold To His Hand – featuring The Como Mamas
7. The Night Is Still Young – featuring Amy LaVere
8. Sing To Me – featuring Amy Helm
9. We Made It – featuring Sharde Thomas
10. Cricket (At Night I Can Fly) – featuring Amy LaVere
11. Til It’s Gone – featuring Birds of Chicago
12. Search Me – featuring The Como Mamas