Photo by Patrick Jordan, via @TreyAnastasio on Instagram


On Monday night in Mesa, Ariz., Phish frontman Trey Anastasio performed a few Kasvot Växt tunes for the first time in his solo acoustic format.

Anastasio opened the show with a “quiet, folk version” of “Turtle in the Clouds” (the same tune that began Phish’s surprise Halloween set in Las Vegas), and went on to perform Phish cuts like “Strange Design,” “The Inlaw Josie Wales,” “Sample in a Jar” and “Theme From the Bottom.”

Later, Anastasio offered another debut, with his first-ever acoustic “You Gotta See Mama Every Night.” Interestingly, the 1930s jazz number was only performed once prior by the entire Phish quartet on 3/16/93 with Anastasio’s grandfather on lead vocals.

Anastasio continued on, playing old and new tunes alike, from “Brian and Robert” and “Mountains in the Mist” to “Everything’s Right.”

A rocking sing-a-long to “Wilson” closed the single set, but the show’s real highlight came during the six-part encore, as Anastasio followed Oysterhead’s “Rubberneck Lions” with a meandering “Ghost” jam that segued in out of Kasvot Växt’s “Say it to Me S.A.N.T.O.S.” twice. The guitarist closed the show with the Big Boat standout “More.”

Anastasio’s acoustic tour continues on Dec. 5 in Santa Barbara, Calif.

Visit his website for more information.

Trey Anastasio
December 3, 2018
Ikeda Theater At Mesa Arts Center Mesa, AZ

Solo acoustic

Turtle in the Clouds*, Strange Design , The Inlaw Josie Wales, Sample in a Jar, Theme From the Bottom, Heavy Things, Limb By Limb, Wolfman’s Brother, You Gotta See Mama Every Night*, Brian and Robert, Mountains in the Mist, Everything’s Right, The Wedge, All of These Dreams, Till We Meet Again, Let Me Lie, Waste, Pebbles and Marbles, Free, Bouncing Around the Room, Wilson

Encore: Rubberneck Lions, Ghost > Say it to Me S.A.N.T.O.S.* > Ghost > Say it to Me S.A.N.T.O.S., More

Notes: *Debut