Animal Collective have announced their new album Tangerine Reef, which will be released on August 17 as part of a collaborative audiovisual project with Coral Morphologic to commemorate the 2018 International Year of the Reef.

Collectively, the album (which is credited to Avey Tare, Deakin and Geologist) and accompanying film are described as a “visual tone poem” that features time-lapse and slow-panning video of coral reefs and the aquatic animals that inhabit them. As a press release states, “Tangerine Reef is the sight and sound of a literal underwater collective of animals.”

Animal Collective and Coral Morphologic—the “art-science” duo of marine biologist Colin Foord and musician J.D. McKay—met in 2010 at a screening of Animal Collective’s audiovisual album Oddsac, and the two have collaborated in the years since, including Geologist scoring Coral Morphologic’s 2011 short film Man O War.

The full-length Tangerine Reef film will also be available on August 17 via the band’s website. Pre-orders of the album on CD and vinyl can be purchased here. The video for first single “Hair Cutter” is available via Apple Music here.