The Arcade Fire will release its long-awaited third album, The Suburbs, on August 3 via Merge Records. The album is the band’s first since 2007’s Neon Bible and the band’s first since taking an extended hiatus. The group’s current lineup features Win Butler, Régine Chassagne, Richard Reed Parry, William Butler, Tim Kingsbury, Sarah Neufeld and Jeremy Gara. Written, arranged, performed and produced by the Arcade Fire and co-produced by Markus Dravs, The Suburbs was recorded around Montreal and New York over the past two years.

A double A side, limited edition 12” will be available in record stores from May 27th 2010, featuring the tracks “The Suburbs” and “Month of May.” Both songs will be available for immediate download with pre-orders placed.