Widespread Panic will release its next album on May 25. Dirty Side Down will be the band’s first album on ATO records. As previously reported, the album was produced and recorded in Athens, GA by longtime Panic collaborator John Keane with the help of the members of Widespread Panic. Keane also engineered, mixed and mastered the album, as well as contributed pedal steel and acoustic guitar. Tracks included on the album range from the “multi-layered opener” “Saint Ex” to the “boogie blues” of “Jaded Tourist” and the “laid back Southern nature” of “When You Comin.” The album also features a cover of the late Vic Chesnutt’s “This Cruel Thing,” a previously unreleased song that Keane unearthed for the band.

“I guess Widespread Panic and Vic aren’t quite done with each other yet,” Widespread Panic lead singer John Bell said in a statement.

Ten of the album’s 12 songs were co-written by the band. Be sure to order the April/May issue of Relix for a look inside the studio with Widespread Panic.