Guitar Center has confirmed the top five finalists for its Drum-Off 2009.
are Troy Molsberry (Carlsbad, CA), Eugine McBride (Flint, MI), Stanley Jamal Hampton (Smithtown, NY), Ramon Sampson (Cordova, TN) and Michael McGrath (Henderson, NV). All five finalists will travel to Los Angeles’ Wiltern to perform in front of a celebrity panel on January 8. The panel includes an eclectic range of artists: Peter Erskine (Steely Dan), Taylor Hawkins (Foo Fighters), Drew Hester (Foo Fighters / Joe Walsh), Thomas Lang, Jason Sutter (Chris Cornell), Kenny Aronoff (John Mellencamp / Sessions Legend), John Tempesta (The Cult), Tony Royster Jr. (Jay-Z), Nisan Stewart (Jamie Foxx / 50 Cent) and Ray Luzier (Korn).

In addition, the evening will feature a performance by “Bezerk,” an exclusive project presented by Tommy Lee (Mötley Crüe) and the Street Drum Corps’ Frank Zummo, featuring Chad Smith (Red Hot Chili Peppers), Matt Sorum (Guns N’ Roses, Velvet Revolver), José Pasillas (Incubus), Abe Cunningham (Deftones), DJ Aero, Sully Erna (Godsmack), Jay Weinberg (E Street Band), BANG! and others. Jane’s Addiction/Banyan drummer Stephen Perkins will once again host the evening. The night will also feature a tribute to Led Zeppelin drummer John Bonham by his son Jason, along with an exclusive collaborative performance by Danny Carey (Tool) and Brann Dailor (Mastodon).